The Institute of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology (INN) of the National Center for Scientific Research (NCSR) “Demokritos” was established in 2012 through the merging of three former Institutes, all established in 1986. The three constituent institutes had been enjoying longstanding recognition in Research, Development and Innovation (R&D&I) within Greece and had always made a significant presence and contribution at the European scientific scene. These were

  • The Institute of Materials Science, known for its pioneering research in cutting-edge materials science technologies, with a strong focus on magnetic, superconductive, structural, electronic and cultural heritage materials and a special emphasis on materials at the nanoscale.
  • The Institute of Microelectronics, a prominent research organization in Micro-/ Nanotechnologies and Nanofabrication, which has been acclaimed as a pioneer in the aforementioned fields both at a national and European level
  • The Institute of Physical Chemistry, a well-renowned research organization in a wide range of physical and chemical systems spanning from molecular/ macromolecular/supramolecular entities, assemblages and nanostructures to high-end process design and applications.

Demonstrating a remarkable adaptability and resilience, with continuous interactions among its scientists, reinforced by the invaluable support of the technical and administrative personnel and the Center’s administration, INN quickly absorbed the disruption of the abrupt merging. It eventually found its footing and daily rhythms and not only reinforced its position in the Greek and European R&D ecosystem but it repositioned itself as a new, stronger entity by exploiting the opportunities that emerged from the multidisciplinarity, the accumulated expertise and know-how of its researchers and the fertile ground that new collaborations among the research groups of the new institute created.

The R&D&I activities of INN are distributed in seven buildings, all situated in the campus of NCSR “Demokritos”, where four other institutes and “Lefkippos” Technology Park are located.

Skip to content